Islam students at LUC

Archive for February 16th, 2013

@youbeatmetoit:

“Yusuf” is just the Arabic name for Joseph; it’s the same person. In the same way, Musa=Moses, Ismail=Ishmael, Isa=Jesus, Ibrahim=Abraham, etc.

This week in class we discussed ways to interpret and learn the Quran. I have grown up in a lutheran church and I have learned all of the stories in the bible so when we read the story about Jacob and Joseph it was very familiar to me. I learned many times about this story and was always a fan of Joseph and the Technicolor Dream Coat which tells the story of a kid who is loved by his dad and is close to God and his brothers are jealous that he gets a nice coat from his dad so they get rid of him but then he becomes very powerful and ends up on top of the world. He is faced with temptation and many other struggles along the way. I also noticed a couple of differences in the Quran version from the Biblical version. In the biblical version Joseph is blamed a lot however in the Quran version God always tells the people that Joseph is not at fault.

In responds to green monkey I also found it very interesting that there are different ways to learn and interpret the Quran. It is very amazing to me that many people of the islam religion read and memorize the entire Quran. I find it difficult to memorize a single sentence i cannot even imagine having to practice memorizing an entire book. I also think it is interesting that some people only read the Quran for there islam religion with no background and they use there own interpretation of the book to determine what is right and wrong in the eyes of God. Other people take classes or learn from others to here the word and to know what is right and what is wrong. That does not mean that they do not read the Quran it just means they do not entirely use there own interpretation.

Last week in class we were put into small groups to talk about the Surah Yusuf. One question that I forgot to ask is why is it called Surah Yusuf when the story is about Joseph? Is Yusuf another name for Joseph? This process took quite some time because our group had a hard time truly understanding the chronology of events in the end of the story. The whole idea of Joseph putting the cup in his youngest brother’s bag seemed to be a somewhat immature and passive-aggressive way to get his father, Jacob, to come to the palace. On another note, I found an interesting article title “Non-believers taking college campuses by storm.” This article reminded me of our conversation about whether atheism is considered a religion. The Secular Student Alliance registers related groups within the Office For Religious life at Stanford. The Secular Student Alliance also provides materials and information, and they have weekly meetings and some sense of structure and background. I would say that with such a large trend towards young people choosing to be secular we should consider that in itself to be a new form of religion. 

http://www.salon.com/2013/02/16/non_believers_taking_college_campuses_by_storm_partner/

In response to a few who have posted before me this week, I too was interested in the humanity presented within Joseph’s story. As mentioned many times I was raised with no religious teachings whatsoever. I have not learned the story of any prophets really, but I always assumed they would have some essence of mysticism. Joseph’s story is extremely humanistic with little frills or exaggerations. I appreciate the fact that prophets were not exemplary human beings. They were simply humans chosen by God to spread his religious teachings.