Islam students at LUC

“A man is a single person, but a woman is a nation.”

Posted on: September 11, 2015

Watching Koran by Heart made me smile all the way through. I could close my eyes and listen to recitations of the Koran all day. The faith of those young Muslims resounded as they recited, making the Arabic that much more beautiful. Even as a non-Muslim, I could feel the magnificent power of the Koran. I fell in love with Rafdhad and her mother. Rafdhad is such a determined, brilliant young girl, inspired and fueled by her faith to follow her dreams to be a night explorer. I also really appreciated how the way the film was able to show the diversity of Islam, with Koran reciters from Maldives, Egypt, Senegal, Italy, and sixty-six other countries. It really was an amazing, well done documentary, gracefully covering the importance of the Koran and Ramadan as well as the differing views among Muslims, discussing fundamentalist and moderate beliefs. In a short hour and twenty minutes, I grew to really appreciate the Koran.

In response to homegurl14, I’m also really interested in learning more about religious figures not only in Islam but other religions that help to bridge humanity with the divine. I was raised Catholic, so throughout my childhood, I was always taught that Jesus was both human and divine in order to create a connection between the divinity of God and our flawed humanity. So far, learning about the prophets of Islam, even if it has only been one class period, has helped me to understand the accessibility of religion. I think, in Catholicism (which I’ll probably draw from often since it is what I know best), the saints play a similar role as prophets-living examples of what God calls us to be. The saints are relatable, people just like us, examples of what we all have the potential to be. We all need people like that to keep us grounded in our faiths.

